SNSD (So Nyeo Slay Dae) Comes to Take Back Their Throne

So I’m about ready to go to bed, and I see someone on my tumblr dash talking about “Mr.Mr.”; the name of SNSD’s comeback song released at their SMTown Week concert in December 2013. I heard rumours that it was scrapped, that the video had to be filmed twice because Lee SooMan thought the first one sucked, and that they were coming back sooner…I had no idea what was happening with SNSD. Yesterday, Taeyeon (Leader of SNSD) posted a teaser pic on her Instagram account stating a comeback was near. I did a bit of digging, and found out what’s up.

The comeback is nearer than we thought because today, February 11, 2014, over a year since SNSD last came back with the hot mess “I Got a Boy” (which I still loved anyways), SMEnt released the teaser for “Mr.Mr.” and set the comeback date to February 19.

The teaser is 100% flawless. It looks like the girls have some sort of hospital/nurse concept, which is their best concept since the classy princess concept of “The Boys” back in 2011. It looks sexy, mature, and fits the beat of the song well. (To be fair, they only had 1 Korean comeback concept, which was gross, but the two Japanese release concepts were as lame as “Mr. Taxi,” “Oh!” and “Hoot”).

The song sounds perfect, and it actually reminds me of early 2000’s Britney Spears, which means the full version of the song is going to be amazing.

Unfortunately there are a few things I’m upset about.

The first being that obviously SNSD are the highest level of amazing possible, and that means that this comeback is going to take away from the other amazing comebacks of February, including Ladies’ Code (which I was really looking forward to, especially after I saw the teasers!) and btob. These other groups won’t even have a chance, which is kind of sad, but oh well. There will always be casualties when SNSD promotes.

The other thing I’m a little upset about is that this is only going to be a mini album. SM what the Hell? You put all your work into SM the Flop Version 2, giving EXO 999999 comebacks last year, and barely promoting TVXQ (oh wait…)…but the 9oddesses have been out of the scene for over a year and you can’t give us a full album? Granted Sooyoung, Yoona, Tiffany and Seohyun are busy with their own schedules, but you still have 5 other members, 3 of which are main vocals. You could give us a full album.

BUT! That means there is also hope for a second comeback this year, or a repackage. I’m hoping for the former.

Anyways, I’m so excited I can’t even sleep now. I’m already really loving the concept, and the song, which is something I can’t say about “I Got a Boy” at all – that song was definitely a grower and I still think the concept was crap. “Mr.Mr.” sounds like upbeat electronic pop at it’s finest.

Can we also just take a moment to appreciate how flawless Sooyoung looked in the teaser? Bless everything.

And with that, I’m going to leave you all to spazz with me for the next 8 days while we await the MV, and the mini album to come on the 24th.

Leave a Reply~

