B1A4 to Star in Sci-Fi Epic, “Solo Day”

As soon as I heard B1A4 were planning a Summer comeback, I prayed it would be around my birthday, and the K-Pop Gods have answered my prayers by slating the comeback on July 14, the week of my birthday. As I’m a NEET until further notice, I will be able to stay up all weekend to watch their live performances. I’m super excited that I’ll get to see my four angels, and Jinyoung, perform their new song on my birthday, even if it’s over a bad Internet stream.

After the announcement of Road Trip, the B1A4 ‘world tour’ that is so far only coming to a city in Asia not near me, the teasers for the album started coming out in late June.

Jinyoung is a couch potato, embodying my very existence, further proving we are ~*soul mates*~.

Sandeul is a pizza delivery boy who for some reason carries a McDonald’s purse, alluding to his love of food.

CNU looks like the glasses-wearing rich boy from the Ouran High School Host Club anime.

Baro is a huge nerd.

And Gongchan is a hobo. A pretty hobo.

Don’t forget the spaceships present on the two album covers. WM, we have got to talk about these multiple covers. Unless you’re going to change up the photo-books, I see no need to purchase two versions of this album since the CD is the same. I will be buying the white one with the Millennium Falcon sketch on it, in case anyone was wondering.

As soon as Sandeul’s photo came out, I realized this is probably my favorite B1A4 concept yet. It’s a perfect combination of their ‘mature’ concepts, and the hipsters from It B1A4 that we all know and love. I also appreciate how WM seemingly went out of their way to give each boy a different role, and didn’t play into the ‘matchy-matchy’ K-Pop concept that so many other groups fall into.

Today, WM released the first ‘Game’ teaser of the boys’ new song.

The teaser shows a retro-video game conceptualized version of the boys in their Road Trip car driving on a television screen while a snippet of their new song plays. The ending shows animated versions of the boys in their teaser roles, while the viewer switches through them, as if choosing the character to play as in the impending game. I adored this teaser, it’s very out of the box, and so B1A4 like, further proving that they’re the most original group in K-Pop.

The video for “Solo Day” was shot in California, and will supposedly follow a storyline, which reminds me of the T-Ara video concepts during their pre-scandal days. A bunch of American models participated in the shoot, as well. So what I’m guessing is that at some point all of these different characters portrayed by each of the boys will come together – or will each have different storylines – we’ll see if we ever get a group teaser. The boys will be abducted by an ‘alien’ – played by one of the models, or maybe a different model in each storyline – to take them out of their life of monotony. And then they’ll realize that being ‘solo’ is ok. I’m anticipating great things for this video.

But then I listened more closely to the song.

I have to admit, I hated “Lonely” in the teaser versions, but have grown to like the song more than many of their previous singles. So I had no expectations for the teaser versions of the song, since with B1A4, they seem to never capture the true essence of the song.

But the country twang of the teaser immediately took me back to the ridiculous 2Yoon 4Minute subunit when they tried to make hoedown music happen. While this is obviously more country-rock than hillbilly chic, I can’t help but wonder if it was B1A4’s turn to rip off 4Minute as payback for 4minute’s teaser earlier this year. Also, if they were going to go country, why not do it when they had the “Baby Goodnight” concept, when they dressed up as actual cowboys?

I’m really hoping the song is a bit faster paced, and won’t be as ‘country’ as the teaser sounds, but I’m not going to even think about the song until the full version comes out, since that’s what really delayed my enjoyment of “Lonely” back in January. It’ll be really interesting to see the full version, and to hear the rest of the songs on the album. Jinyoung returns as composer for 5 of the 6 songs, leaving the sixth for CNU’s next solo composition; and each track has Baro writing his own raps as well.

As usual, B1slAy4 have proven that they deserve to be one of the top K-Pop groups, this time without even releasing the single.

 

3 thoughts on “B1A4 to Star in Sci-Fi Epic, “Solo Day”

  1. […] As I predicted, the music video turned into a true sci-fi epic, with a spaceship attempting to abduct the B1A4 members and make my life easier. Upon watching the video, besides Sandeul and Baro, whose concepts were represented properly with the teaser photos, the first thing I noticed were how Jinyoung and CNU’s teasers provided a false identity to their characters. As discussed in my previous post, Gongchan was meant to be a “Hobo,” and the video showed me that CNU’s character was obviously meant to be “Virgin” and Jinyoung’s, based upon his makeup was “Addict” (we’ll leave what kind up to the reader) – but due to the need to be politically correct and the fact that most B1A4 fans are under 18, it’s understandable why WM found more appropriate terms. My favorite scene in the video, aside from Jinyoung’s arms, was obviously the boys scarfing down American food at the diner where a woman who was likely the spawn of an Elf (the mythical creature, not a Super Junior fan), served them. […]

    Like

  2. […] As I predicted, the music video turned into a true sci-fi epic, with a spaceship attempting to abduct the B1A4 members and make my life easier. Upon watching the video, besides Sandeul and Baro, whose concepts were represented properly with the teaser photos, the first thing I noticed were how Jinyoung and CNU’s teasers provided a false identity to their characters. As discussed in my previous post, Gongchan was meant to be a “Hobo,” and the video showed me that CNU’s character was obviously meant to be “Virgin” and Jinyoung’s, based upon his makeup was “Addict” (we’ll leave what kind up to the reader) – but due to the need to be politically correct and the fact that most B1A4 fans are under 18, it’s understandable why WM found more appropriate terms. My favorite scene in the video, aside from Jinyoung’s arms, was obviously the boys scarfing down American food at the diner where a woman who was likely the spawn of an Elf (the mythical creature, not a Super Junior fan), served them. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply~

